City Gate Ramat Gan in Israel

1 March 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, House of the Month, Union for the Mediterranean

© Oren Peles/cc-by-2.5

© Oren Peles/cc-by-2.5

Moshe Aviv Tower is a 235-metre-tall (771 ft) skyscraper located in the demarcated area of the Diamond Exchange District (Israel Diamond Exchange) on Jabotinsky Road (No. 7) in the Tel Aviv District city of Ramat Gan, Israel. The 68-story building is commonly known as City Gate, its original name. It is the second tallest building in Israel, following Tel Aviv‘s 238-meter-high (781 ft) Azrieli Sarona Tower.   read more…

Yitzhak Rabin Center in Tel Aviv

13 November 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Museums, Exhibitions, Opera Houses, Theaters, Libraries, Union for the Mediterranean

© Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

© Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

The Yitzhak Rabin Center is a library and research center in Tel Aviv, Israel, built in memory of assassinated Israeli prime minister Yitzhak Rabin.   read more…

The European Union: Real Estate and Demography

25 May 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Architecture, Editorial, European Union, General, Living, Working, Building

(Latest update: 28 February 2021) First, there is not THE real estate market – not national and certainly not international. In fact, the market situation is very fragmented due to the general conditions, in other words, many individual markets, collectively referred to as “the market”. Metropolitan Area A faces different challenges than Metropolitan Area B and Metropolitan Area C can not even understand what A and B are talking about. Where there is comparability, is the housing situation in the “affordable segment” in urban centers in all western EU states, the US and Canada. This is where the call for the state, which should intervene regulatively, quickly becomes louder. In free market economies, however, this is on the one hand not wanted and therefore on the other hand, only limited possible. That’s pretty okay, because the market is inherently profit-oriented and that’s just what it will stay, otherwise investment incentives for new construction would sooner or later be completely absent. The “rental price brake” (Mietpreisbremse) exemplifies the problem. At the same time, more and more social housing is being let out of the rental price brake without replacement investment being made. In the following, single aspects are examined in more detail using the example of Germany, whereby the scenarios also apply to other western countries such as the EU states, the US, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, but also, e.g., to Dubai and Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, Singapore, Tel Aviv in Israel and other emerging metropolitan regions around the world.   read more…

Expo Tel Aviv

18 May 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Union for the Mediterranean

© Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

© Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Expo Tel Aviv (formerly the Israel Trade Fairs and Convention Center and later the Tel Aviv Convention Center, although commonly referred to locally as Exhibition Gardens and also as the Tel Aviv Fairgrounds) is a site located on Rokach Boulevard in northern Tel Aviv. It serves as a venue for a variety of events, including concerts, exhibitions, trade fairs and conferences.   read more…

The Israeli Independence Day

13 May 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Independence Hall in Tel Aviv © Deror avi

Independence Hall in Tel Aviv © Deror avi

The Israeli Declaration of Independence took place on May 14, 1948 or on 5 Iyar 5708, according to the Hebrew calendar, in the Independence Hall of the Israeli de jure capital city Tel Aviv, mostly as a direct result of the Holocaust and the Évian Conference. On the same day, the British Mandatory Palestine ended. The Independence Day (Hebrew “Jom haAtzma’ut” for “Day of Independence”) was introduced in the following year 1949 as a reminder of the proclamation of the state by David Ben-Gurion.   read more…

The Azrieli Center in Tel Aviv

1 April 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, House of the Month, Union for the Mediterranean

© Rastaman3000/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Rastaman3000/cc-by-sa-3.0

Azrieli Center is a complex of skyscrapers in Tel Aviv. At the base of the center lies a large shopping mall. The center was originally designed by Israeli-American architect Eli Attia, and after he fell out with the developer of the center, completion of the design was passed on to the Tel Aviv firm of Moore Yaski Sivan Architects. The center was not named after Israeli-Canadian real estate developer David Azrieli. The Azrieli Center is located on a 34,500 m² (371,000 sq ft) site, which was previously used as Tel Aviv’s dumpster-truck parking garage. The $420 million project revitalized the area. The Azrieli Center Mall is one of the largest in Israel. There are about 30 restaurants, fast-food counters, cafes and food stands in the mall. The top floor of the mall is a popular hangout spot for teens, and many online message boards arrange get-togethers there during national holidays.   read more…

Theme Week Tel Aviv – Maccabiah Games

23 January 2017 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Sport, Union for the Mediterranean

Baloons representing the participant countries at the 2013 Maccabiah Games © Maor X/cc-by-sa-3.0

Baloons representing the participant countries at the 2013 Maccabiah Games © Maor X/cc-by-sa-3.0

The Maccabiah Games first held in 1932, are an international Jewish multi-sport event now held quadrennially in Tel Aviv, Israel. The Maccabiah, which is organized by the Maccabi World Union, was declared a “Regional Sport Event” by, and under the auspices of and supervision of, the International Olympic Committee and international sports federations in 1960. The Maccabiah is often referred to as the “Jewish Olympics”. Originally, the Maccabiah was held every three years; since the 4th Maccabiah, the event is held the year following the Olympic Games. In contrast with other large multi-sport events such as the Olympics, competitions at the Maccabiah are organized into four distinct divisions – Juniors, Open, Masters, and Disabled.   read more…

Theme Week Tel Aviv – The Rothschild Boulevard

18 January 2016 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Union for the Mediterranean

© Degser/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Degser/cc-by-sa-3.0

Rothschild Boulevard is one of the principal streets in the center of Tel Aviv, beginning in Neve Tzedek at its southwestern edge and running north to Habima Theatre. It is one of the most expensive streets in the city, being one of the city’s main tourist attractions. It features a wide, tree-lined central strip with pedestrian and bike lanes. Rothschild Boulevard was the epicenter of the 2011 Israeli social justice protests.   read more…

Theme Week Tel Aviv – The Rabin Square

11 January 2016 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Union for the Mediterranean

Rabin Memorial © Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Yitzhak Rabin Memorial: “Here at this place Yitzhak Rabin, Prime Minister & Minister of Defence was murdered in the struggle for peace 4.11.95” © Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

The Rabin Square, formerly Kings of Israel Square, is a large public city square in the center of Tel Aviv. Over the years it has been the site of numerous political rallies, parades, and other public events. In 1995 the square was renamed “Rabin Square” following the assassination of Yitzhak Rabin by an right-wing extremist and Likud supporter, which occurred there on November 4th of that year, right after a peace rally to celebrate the Oslo I Accord (Arab–Israeli and Israeli-Palestinian conflict). A memorial stands on the spot where Rabin was assassinated (at the northeast corner of the square, below City Hall). Part of the memorial is a small, open legacy wall for Rabin.   read more…

Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲

City Gate Ramat Gan in Israel

1. März 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Haus des Monats, Union für das Mittelmeer

© Oren Peles/cc-by-2.5

© Oren Peles/cc-by-2.5

Das City Gate oder auch Mosche Aviv Tower in Ramat Gan in Israel ist mit einer Gesamthöhe von 244 m das zweithöchste Gebäude Israels. In dem 2001 erbauten Hochhaus befinden sich auf 68 Etagen hauptsächlich Büros und in den 11 obersten Etagen 98 Apartment-Wohnungen.  mehr lesen…

Jitzchak-Rabin-Zentrum in Tel Aviv

13. November 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Museen, Ausstellungen, Opernhäuser, Theater, Bibliotheken, Union für das Mittelmeer

© Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

© Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Das Jitzchak-Rabin-Zentrum (englisch: Yitzhak Rabin Center) ist eine Bibliothek und Forschungszentrum in Tel Aviv, Israel, zur Erinnerung an den ermordeten israelischen Ministerpräsidenten Jitzchak Rabin.  mehr lesen…

Die Europäische Union: Immobilien und Demografie

25. Mai 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Architektur, Editorial, Europäische Union, Allgemein, Leben, Wohnen, Arbeiten

(Letzte Ergänzung: 11.04.2021) Zunächst gibt es DEN Immobilienmarkt nicht – nicht national und schon gar nicht international. Tatsächlich ist die Marktsituation aufgrund der Rahmenbedingungen sehr fragmentiert, also viele einzelne Märkte, die in ihrer Gesamtheit als “der Markt” bezeichnet werden. Metropolregion A hat andere Herausforderungen zu bewältigen als Metropolregion B und Metropolregion C kann nicht einmal nachvollziehen worüber A und B überhaupt sprechen. Wo es Vergleichbarkeiten gibt ist die Wohnsituation im “bezahlbaren Segment” in den urbanen Zentren in allen westlichen EU-Bundesstaaten, den USA und Kanada. Schnell wird hier der Ruf nach dem Staat laut, der regulierend eingreifen solle. In freien Marktwirtschaften ist dies aber auf der einen Seite nicht gewollt und deshalb auf der anderen Seite auch nur begrenzt möglich. Das ist auch richtig so, denn der Markt ist von Natur aus profitorientiert aufgebaut und das wird er richtigerweise auch bleiben, denn sonst würden über kurz oder lang Investitionsanreize für Neubaumaßnahmen gänzlich fehlen. Die Mietpreisbremse zeigt die Problematik beispielhaft auf. Gleichzeitig fallen immer mehr Sozialwohnungen aus den Mietpreisbindungen ohne das Ersatzinvestitionen vorgenommen werden würden. Nachfolgend werden einzelne Aspekte am Beispiel Deutschlands näher beleuchtet, wobei sich die Szenarien so auch auf andere westliche Länder wie den EU-Bundesstaaten, den USA, dem Vereinigten Königreich, Kanada, Australien, Neuseeland, aber auch beispielsweise auf Dubai und Abu Dhabi in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, Hongkong, Singapur, Tel Aviv in Israel und andere aufstrebende Metropolregionen rund um den Globus übertragen lassen.  mehr lesen…

Expo Tel Aviv

18. Mai 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Union für das Mittelmeer

© Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

© Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Die Expo Tel Aviv (früher das Messe- und Kongresszentrum Israel und später das Kongresszentrum Tel Aviv, auch Messegärten oder Messegelände Tel Aviv genannt) befindet sich am Rokach Boulevard im Norden von Tel Aviv. Es dient als Veranstaltungsort für eine Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen, darunter Konzerte, Ausstellungen, Messen und Konferenzen.  mehr lesen…

Der israelische Unabhängigkeitstag

13. Mai 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein

Independence Hall in Tel Aviv © Deror avi

Independence Hall in Tel Aviv © Deror avi

Die Israelische Unabhängigkeitserklärung erfolgte am 14. Mai 1948 bzw. am 5. Ijjar 5708 nach dem jüdischen Kalender in der Independence Hall der israelischen de jure Hauptstadt Tel Aviv, auch als Folge des Holocaust und der Konferenz von Évian. Am selben Tag endete das britische Völkerbundsmandat für Palästina. Der Unabhängigkeitstag (hebräisch “Jom haAtzma’ut” für “Tag der Unabhängigkeit”) wurde im folgenden Jahr 1949 als Erinnerung an die Proklamation des Staates durch David Ben-Gurion eingeführt.  mehr lesen…

Das Azrieli Center in Tel Aviv

1. April 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Haus des Monats, Union für das Mittelmeer

© Rastaman3000/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Rastaman3000/cc-by-sa-3.0

Das Azrieli Center ist ein Komplex von Hochhäusern in Tel Aviv. Am Fuß des Zentrums liegt ein großes Einkaufszentrum. Das Zentrum wurde ursprünglich vom israelisch-amerikanischen Architekten Eli Attia entworfen, und nachdem er sich mit dem Entwickler des Zentrums überworfen hatte, wurde die Fertigstellung der Arbeiten an die Moore Yaski Sivan Architects in Tel Aviv übergeben. Das Center wurde nach dem israelisch-kanadischen Immobilienentwickler David Azrieli benannt. Das Azrieli Center befindet sich auf einem 34.500 m² großen Gelände, das zuvor als Tel Avivs Müllwagendepot genutzt wurde. Das 420 Millionen US-$ teure Projekt revitalisierte das umliegende Gebiet. Die Azrieli Center Mall ist eine der größten in Israel. Es gibt etwa 30 Restaurants, Fast-Food-Theken, Cafés und Essensstände in der Mall. Das oberste Stockwerk des Einkaufszentrums ist ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Teenager. Viele Internetforen organisieren dort während nationaler Feiertage Zusammenkünfte.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Tel Aviv – Makkabiade

23. Januar 2017 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Sport, Union für das Mittelmeer

Baloons representing the participant countries at the 2013 Maccabiah Games © Maor X/cc-by-sa-3.0

Baloons representing the participant countries at the 2013 Maccabiah Games © Maor X/cc-by-sa-3.0

Die Makkabiade, im Plural Makkabiot, ist die größte internationale jüdische Sportveranstaltung in Israel und ist ähnlich wie die Olympischen Spiele konzipiert. Sie entstand während der Zionismusbewegung der 1930er-Jahre aus der jüdischen Makkabi-Sportbewegung. Die Organisation liegt beim Makkabi-Weltverband (MWV). Zum ersten Mal wurde sie 1932 in Tel Aviv veranstaltet. Anlässlich der ersten Makkabiade wurde das erste Sportstadion Israels gebaut; vom 28. März bis zum 31. März 1932 fand diese erste Makkabiade mit 20.000 Besuchern in Palästina statt, ein symbolisch gelegtes Jahr, nämlich genau 1800 Jahre nach Beginn des Aufstandes von Bar Kochba gegen die Römer. Seit 1953 findet sie regelmäßig alle vier Jahre dort statt. Ebenfalls im Vier-Jahres-Rhythmus, jeweils zwei Jahre nach der Makkabiade in Israel, findet die europäische Makkabiade statt. Auf dem Weg zur Makkabiade steht die Ausbildung jüdischer Turn- und Sportvereine (u. a. Makkabi-Bewegung). Im 19. Jahrhundert waren Juden zahlreich in den europäischen Turnvereinen vertreten. Die Errichtung jüdischer Vereine ist durch zwei Effekte begründet: Einerseits wurden Juden aufgrund des wachsenden Antisemitismus aus nationalen Turnvereinen gedrängt; ein drastisches Beispiel dafür ist Österreich, dort wurden 1901 die Juden aus den Turnvereinen ausgeschlossen. Andererseits motivierte der aufkommende Nationalismus einige Juden, sich jüdischen Vereinen anzuschließen.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Tel Aviv – Der Rothschild Boulevard

18. Januar 2016 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Union für das Mittelmeer

© Degser/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Degser/cc-by-sa-3.0

Der Rothschild Boulevard ist einer der Hauptstraßen im Zentrum von Tel Aviv, beginnend in Stadtteil Neve Zedek am südwestlichen Rand bis in den Norden zum Habima Theater. Es ist eine der teuersten Straßen und eine der wichtigsten Touristenattraktionen der Stadt. Der Boulevard verfügt über einen breiten, von Bäumen gesäumten Mittelstreifen mit Fußgänger- und Fahrradwegen. Der Rothschild-Boulevard war das Epizentrum der Proteste für mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit 2011/2012.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Tel Aviv – Der Rabin Square

11. Januar 2016 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Union für das Mittelmeer

Rabin Memorial © Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Yitzhak Rabin Memorial: “Here at this place Yitzhak Rabin, Prime Minister & Minister of Defence was murdered in the struggle for peace 4.11.95” © Dr. Avishai Teicher/cc-by-2.5

Der Rabin-Platz, früher Könige von Israel-Platz, ist ein großer öffentlicher Stadtplatz im Zentrum von Tel Aviv. Im Laufe der Jahre ist der Platz für zahlreiche politische Kundgebungen, Paraden und andere öffentliche Veranstaltungen genutzt worden. Nach der Ermordung von Yitzhak Rabin am 4. November 1995 durch einen rechtsradikalen Likud-Extremisten, nach einer Friedenskundgebung zur Feier des Oslo-Friedensprozesses (Nahost- und Israelisch-Palästinensischer Konflikt), wurde der Platz im selben Jahr in Rabin-Platz umbenannt. Ein Denkmal steht an der Stelle, wo Rabin ermordet wurde (an der nordöstlichen Ecke des Platzes, unterhalb des Rathauses). Ein Teil der Gedenkstätte ist eine kleine, offene Erinnerungswand für Rabin.  mehr lesen…

Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲