Anna Maria Island in Florida

27 February 2023 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  5 minutes

Anna Maria City Pier Historical Marker © The Grid/cc-by-sa-4.0

Anna Maria City Pier Historical Marker © The Grid/cc-by-sa-4.0

Anna Maria Island is a barrier island on the coast of Manatee County, Florida, in the United States. It is bounded on the west by the Gulf of Mexico, on the south by Longboat Pass (which separates it from Longboat Key), on the east by Anna Maria Sound, and on the north by Tampa Bay. Anna Maria Island is approximately 7 miles (11 km) long north to south.   read more…

Port Arthur in Texas

18 April 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  6 minutes

Rose Hill © Michael Reed/cc-by-sa-3.0

Rose Hill © Michael Reed/cc-by-sa-3.0

Port Arthur is a city in Jefferson County within the Beaumont–Port Arthur metropolitan area of the U.S. state of Texas. A small, uninhabited portion extends into Orange County; it is 90 mi (140 km) east of Houston. The largest oil refinery in the United States, the Motiva Refinery, is located in Port Arthur. Port Arthur is vulnerable to hurricanes and extensive damage to the city has been caused several times. Port Arthur’s Museum of the Gulf Coast is recognized as the area’s definitive collection of items and displays for figures from Port Arthur and the surrounding communities.   read more…

Theme Week Florida Coasts – Emerald Coast

25 February 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  11 minutes

Destin from the Destin Harbor © flickr.com - Destin Vacation Boat Rentals/cc-by-2.0

Destin from the Destin Harbor © flickr.com – Destin Vacation Boat Rentals/cc-by-2.0

The Emerald Coast is an unofficial name for the coastal area in the US state of Florida on the Gulf of Mexico that stretches about 100 mi (160 km) through five counties, Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, and Bay, which include Pensacola Beach, Navarre Beach, Fort Walton Beach, Destin, and Panama City. Some south Alabama communities on the coast of Baldwin County, such as Gulf Shores, Orange Beach, and Fort Morgan embrace the term as well.   read more…

Theme Week Florida Coasts – Big Bend Coast

24 February 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  9 minutes

Dekle Beach © DiscoverTaylor/cc-by-sa-4.0

Dekle Beach © DiscoverTaylor/cc-by-sa-4.0

The Big Bend region of Florida is an informal region of the state. Different definitions of the region include counties stretching across northern Florida from the Apalachicola River to the St. Johns River. The Big Bend Coast, however, is the marshy coast without barrier islands that extends along the Gulf of Mexico coast of Florida from the Ocklockonee River (Wakulla County) to Anclote Key (Pasco County). Visit Florida, the state’s official tourism marketing corporation, uses varying definitions of the region, including just four counties, Jefferson, Taylor, Dixie and Levy counties, in one definition, and 12 counties, including Levy, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Suwannee, Columbia, Hamilton, Baker, Union, Bradford, Clay, and Putnam counties, in another. The Big Bend Scenic Byway is a marked route through Franklin, Leon, and Wakulla counties.   read more…

Theme Week Florida Coasts – Forgotten Coast

23 February 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Bon appétit Reading Time:  6 minutes

Fishing boats in Apalachicola © Ebyabe/cc-by-sa-3.0

Fishing boats in Apalachicola © Ebyabe/cc-by-sa-3.0

Florida’s Forgotten Coast is a registered trademark coined in the early 1990s by the Apalachicola Bay Chamber of Commerce. The name is most commonly used to refer to a relatively quiet, undeveloped and largely uninhabited section of coastline stretching from Mexico Beach on the Gulf of Mexico to St. Marks on Apalachee Bay in the U.S. state of Florida. The nearest major cities are Tallahassee, about 90 miles (145 km) northeast of Apalachicola, and Panama City, home of Tyndall Air Force Base, about 60 miles (95 km) to the northwest.   read more…

Theme Week Florida Coasts

21 February 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Bon voyage, Miami / South Florida, Theme Weeks Reading Time:  8 minutes

First Coast - Lightner Museum in St. Augustine © Excel23/cc-by-sa-3.0

First Coast – Lightner Museum in St. Augustine © Excel23/cc-by-sa-3.0

Describing the Florida coastline is difficult. In contrast to cities, places, squares or buildings, where this is usually achieved very precisely, the coasts of Florida tend to create a feeling, guided by atmosphere and colors, which words and cameras can barely capture. It is about the overall experience. If you don’t want to run to the nearest travel agency immediately after watching the film at the end of the post to jet over and see it for yourself, you are probably better off in Brighton ;-)   read more…

Theme Week Mexico

11 January 2020 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Bon voyage, Theme Weeks, UNESCO World Heritage Reading Time:  22 minutes

Cancun and the Riviera Maya © Mardetanha - www.safainla.us/cc-by-sa-3.0

Cancun and the Riviera Maya © Mardetanha – www.safainla.us/cc-by-sa-3.0

Mexico, officially the United Mexican States (Spanish: Estados Unidos Mexicanos), is a country in the southern portion of North America. It is bordered to the north by the United States; to the south and west by the Pacific Ocean; to the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and to the east by the Gulf of Mexico. Mexico has approximately 129 million inhabitants, making it the world’s 13th-largest country by area, 10th-most populous country, and most populous Spanish-speaking nation. It is a federation comprising 31 states and Mexico City, its capital city and largest metropolis. Other major urban areas include Guadalajara, Monterrey, Puebla, Toluca, Tijuana, Ciudad Juárez, and León.   read more…

Theme Week Mexico – Isla Mujeres in the Caribbean

12 July 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  6 minutes

© flickr.com - dronepicr/cc-by-2.0

© flickr.com – dronepicr/cc-by-2.0

Isla Mujeres (“Women Island”) is an island in the Gulf of Mexico, about 13 kilometres (8.1 mi) off the Yucatán Peninsula coast. The island is approximately 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) long and 650 metres (2,130 ft) wide. To the east is the Caribbean Sea with a strong surf and rocky coast, and to the west the skyline of Cancún can be seen across the clear waters. The namesake town on the island has a population of 13,000 inhabitants. The island is part of the Isla Mujeres Municipality in the State of Quintana Roo, Mexico.   read more…

Clearwater Beach in Florida

24 November 2017 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  8 minutes

© Shannon Leigh Sandusky/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Shannon Leigh Sandusky/cc-by-sa-3.0

Clearwater Beach includes a resort area and a residential area on the Gulf of Mexico in Pinellas County on the west central coast of Florida. Located just west over the Intracoastal Waterway by way of the Clearwater Memorial Causeway from the city of Clearwater, of which it is part. Clearwater Beach is characterized by white sand beaches stretching for 2.5 miles (4 km) along the Gulf and sits on a barrier island. It has a full marina on the Intracoastal Waterway side and is linked on the south by a short bridge to another barrier island called Sand Key, where Sand Key Park is located.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top

Port Arthur in Texas

18. April 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  6 Minuten

Rose Hill © Michael Reed/cc-by-sa-3.0

Rose Hill © Michael Reed/cc-by-sa-3.0

Port Arthur ist eine Stadt in Südtexas unmittelbar an der Grenze zu Louisiana. Port Arthur liegt am Westufer des Sabine Lake. Die Rainbow Bridge über den Neches River verbindet Port Arthur mit Bridge City.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Floridas Küsten – Emerald Coast

25. Februar 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  11 Minuten

Destin from the Destin Harbor © flickr.com - Destin Vacation Boat Rentals/cc-by-2.0

Destin from the Destin Harbor © flickr.com – Destin Vacation Boat Rentals/cc-by-2.0

Die Emerald Coast (Smaragdküste) ist ein inoffizieller Name für das Küstengebiet im US-Bundesstaat Florida am Golf von Mexiko, das sich etwa 160 km lang über fünf Counties erstreckt, Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton und Bay, zu denen Pensacola Beach, Navarra Beach, Fort Walton Beach, Destin und Panama City gehören. Einige Gemeinden in Südalabama an der Küste von Baldwin County, wie Gulf Shores, Orange Beach und Fort Morgan, nutzen den Begriff ebenfalls an.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Floridas Küsten – Big Bend Coast

24. Februar 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  9 Minuten

Dekle Beach © DiscoverTaylor/cc-by-sa-4.0

Dekle Beach © DiscoverTaylor/cc-by-sa-4.0

Die Region Big Bend in Florida ist eine informelle Region des Bundesstaates. Verschiedene Definitionen der Region umfassen Counties, die sich über Nordflorida vom Apalachicola River bis zum St. Johns River erstrecken. Die Big Bend Coast hingegen ist die sumpfige Küste ohne vorgelagerte Inseln, die sich entlang der Küste des Golfs von Mexiko vom Ocklockonee River (Wakulla County) bis nach Anclote Key (Pasco County) erstreckt. Visit Florida, die offizielle Tourismusmarketinggesellschaft des Bundesstaates, verwendet unterschiedliche Definitionen der Region, darunter nur vier Counties, Jefferson, Taylor, Dixie und Levy, in einer Definition, und 12 Counties, darunter Levy, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Suwannee, Columbia, Hamilton, Baker, Union, Bradford, Clay und Putnam in einer anderen. Der Big Bend Scenic Byway ist eine markierte Route durch die Counties Franklin, Leon und Wakulla.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Floridas Küsten – Forgotten Coast

23. Februar 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  6 Minuten

Fishing boats in Apalachicola © Ebyabe/cc-by-sa-3.0

Fishing boats in Apalachicola © Ebyabe/cc-by-sa-3.0

Floridas Forgotten Coast ist eine eingetragene Marke, die in den frühen 1990er Jahren von der Apalachicola Bay Chamber of Commerce geprägt wurde. Der Name wird am häufigsten verwendet, um einen relativ ruhigen, unerschlossenen und weitgehend unbewohnten Küstenabschnitt zu bezeichnen, der sich von Mexico Beach am Golf von Mexiko bis nach St. Marks an der Apalachee Bay im US-Bundesstaat Florida erstreckt. Die nächsten größeren Städte sind Tallahassee, etwa 145 km nordöstlich von Apalachicola, und Panama City, Heimat der Tyndall Air Force Base, etwa 95 km nordwestlich.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Floridas Küsten

21. Februar 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Miami / South Florida, Themenwochen Lesedauer:  8 Minuten

First Coast - Lightner Museum in St. Augustine © Excel23/cc-by-sa-3.0

First Coast – Lightner Museum in St. Augustine © Excel23/cc-by-sa-3.0

Die Küsten Floridas zu beschreiben ist schwierig. Anders als bei Städten, Orten, Plätzen oder Bauwerken, bei denen dies meistens sehr präzise gelingt, machen die Küsten Floridas eher ein Gefühl aus, gelenkt von Atmospähre und Farben, die Worte und Kameras kaum einfangen können. Es ist das Gesamterlebnis von dem man mitgerissen wird und einen nicht mehr loslässt. Für diejenigen, für die Florida nichts ist, gibt es am Schluss dieses Beitrags eine Menge mehr zur Ostküste der USA zu sehen. Wer danach nicht sofort zum nächsten Reisebüro laufen möchte, um rüber zu jetten und es sich selbst anzusehen, ist wahrscheinlich besser in Bitterfeld aufgehoben ;-)  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Mexiko

11. Januar 2020 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein, Themenwochen, UNESCO-Welterbe Lesedauer:  22 Minuten

Cancun and the Riviera Maya © Mardetanha - www.safainla.us/cc-by-sa-3.0

Cancun and the Riviera Maya © Mardetanha – www.safainla.us/cc-by-sa-3.0

Mexiko, amtlich Vereinigte Mexikanische Staaten, spanisch: Estados Unidos Mexicanos, ist eine Bundesrepublik in Nordamerika, die 31 Bundesstaaten und den Hauptstadtdistrikt Mexiko-Stadt umfasst. Im Norden grenzt Mexiko an die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (USA), im Süden und Westen an den Pazifischen Ozean, im Südosten an Guatemala, Belize und an das Karibische Meer, im Osten an den Golf von Mexiko. Mit einer Gesamtfläche von fast zwei Millionen Quadratkilometern ist Mexiko das fünftgrößte Land auf dem amerikanischen Doppelkontinent, global liegt das Land an vierzehnter Stelle. Weltweit liegt Mexiko mit einer Bevölkerungszahl von etwa 129 Millionen Menschen auf Platz elf und ist das einwohnerreichste spanischsprachige Land.  mehr lesen…

Themenwoche Mexiko – Isla Mujeres in der Karibik

12. Juli 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  6 Minuten

© flickr.com - dronepicr/cc-by-2.0

© flickr.com – dronepicr/cc-by-2.0

Die Isla Mujeres (“Fraueninsel”) ist eine Insel an der mexikanischen Karibikküste im Bundesstaat Quintana Roo. Die Isla Mujeres liegt etwa 13 km nördlich des Ferienorts Cancún. Sie hat eine Bevölkerung von etwa 13.000. Haupterwerbsquelle ist der Tourismus. Die Insel hat eine Ausdehnung von etwa 7 km Länge und 650 Meter Breite, mit einer Fläche von 4,2 km². Die Westküste ist seit 1996 Teil des Nationalparks Costa Occidental de Isla Mujeres, Punta Cancún y Punta Nizuc.  mehr lesen…

Clearwater Beach in Florida

24. November 2017 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  8 Minuten

© Shannon Leigh Sandusky/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Shannon Leigh Sandusky/cc-by-sa-3.0

Clearwater Beach umfasst einen Resortbereich und ein Wohngebiet am Golf von Mexiko im Pinellas County an der westlichen Zentralküste von Florida. Der Stadtteil liegt westlich der Kernstadt Clearwater, deren Teil sie ist und mit der sie über den Intracoastal Waterway und den Clearwater Memorial Causeway verbunden ist. Clearwater Beach zeichnet sich durch weiße Sandstrände aus, die sich 2,5 Meilen (4 km) entlang des Golfs erstrecken und auf einer Barriereinsel sitzen. Auf der Intracoastal Waterway-Seite befindet sich ein Yachthafen. Im Süden ist Clearwater Beach durch eine kurze Brücke mit einer anderen Barriereinsel namens Sand Key verbunden, auf der sich der Sand Key Park befindet.  mehr lesen…

Saint Petersburg in der Tampa Bay

25. August 2017 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Allgemein Lesedauer:  16 Minuten

Downtown_Saint_Petersburg © John O'Neill/cc-by-sa-3.0

Downtown Saint Petersburg © John O’Neill/cc-by-sa-3.0

Saint Petersburg (Spitzname “St. Pete”), auch Florida’s Sunshine City genannt, ist eine Hafenstadt im Pinellas County in Florida mit 261.000 Einwohnern. Nach Jacksonville, Miami und Tampa ist Saint Petersburg die viertgrößte Stadt Floridas. Die an der Tampa Bay gelegene Stadt ist Teil der Metropolitan Statistical Area Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater (kurz auch Tampa Bay Area) mit rund 2,8 Millionen Einwohnern. Saint Petersburg liegt im Westen Floridas auf einer Halbinsel, rund 10 km südwestlich von Tampa am Golf von Mexiko, der auch die westliche und südliche Begrenzung der Halbinsel darstellt. Im Osten ist dies die Tampa Bay. Die Stadt grenzt direkt an die Städte Gulfport, Kenneth City, Pinellas Park, South Pasadena, St. Pete Beach und Treasure Island.  mehr lesen…

Zum SeitenanfangZum Seitenanfang