Fort Boyard on the west coast of France

May 15th, 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

© Patrick Despoix/cc-by-sa-4.0

© Patrick Despoix/cc-by-sa-4.0

Fort Boyard is a fort located between the Île-d’Aix and the Île d’Oléron in the Pertuis d’Antioche straits, on the west coast of France and is the filming location for the TV gameshow of the same name. Though a fort on Boyard bank was suggested as early as the 17th century, it was not until the 1800s under Napoleon Bonaparte that work began. Building started in 1801 and was completed in 1857. In 1967, the final scene of the French film Les aventuriers was filmed at the remains of the fort.   read more…

Delray Beach in Florida, America’s Most Fun Small Town

December 31st, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Miami

Delray Beach © D Ramey Logan/cc-by-sa-4.0

Delray Beach © D Ramey Logan/cc-by-sa-4.0

Delray Beach is a coastal city in Palm Beach County, Florida, United States. The population of Delray Beach is estimated at 67,000. Delray Beach is a principal city of the Miami metropolitan area, which is home to an estimated 6.2 million people. The city’s eastern boundary includes 3 miles (4.8 km) of beachfront along the Atlantic Ocean. Delray Beach is one of South Florida’s most popular beach destinations. The area is noted for its restaurants, retail shops, nightclubs, art galleries, and hotels. Directly to the south, the city is bordered by Boca Raton. To the south and southeast, the city is bordered by Highland Beach on the same barrier island east of the Intracoastal Waterway. Directly to the north, the city is bordered by Boynton Beach. To the north and northeast, the city is bordered by Gulf Stream on the barrier island and along a section of mainland east of U.S. Route 1.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Georgetown

September 29th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Downtown Georgetown © - amanderson2/cc-by-2.0

Downtown Georgetown © – amanderson2/cc-by-2.0

Georgetown is the capital of Guyana, located in Region 4, which is also known as the Demerara-Mahaica region. It is the country’s largest urban centre. It is situated on the Atlantic Ocean coast at the mouth of the Demerara River and it was nicknamed Garden City of the Caribbean. Georgetown serves primarily as a retail and administrative centre. It also serves as a financial services centre. The city recorded a population of 200,500 in the 2016 census. Georgetown is the seat of the central Government of Guyana. All Executive Departments are located in the city. Parliament Building, Guyana’s Legislative Building, is also found in Georgetown and so is the Court of Appeals, Guyana’s highest judicial court. The State House (the official residence of the Head of State), as well as the offices and residence of the Head of Government, are both located in the city. Georgetown is the capital city as well as the main economic base of Guyana.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Anna Regina

September 26th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Country Road Scenery © - Marco Farouk Basir/cc-by-sa-3.0

Country Road Scenery © – Marco Farouk Basir/cc-by-sa-3.0

Anna Regina< is the capital of the Pomeroon-Supenaam Region of Guyana. It stands on the Atlantic coast, northwest of the mouth of the Essequibo River, 19 km north of Adventure. Anna Regina was established as a town in 1970. Its population is at 12,500. Anna Regina has a market, a community centre and a secondary school. In June 2009 Republic Bank (Guyana) established a branch in the town.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – New Amsterdam

September 25th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Berbice River © - madmack66/cc-by-2.0

Berbice River © – madmack66/cc-by-2.0

New Amsterdam (Dutch: Nieuw Amsterdam) is one of the largest towns in Guyana, located in the East Berbice-Corentyne Region, 62 mi (100 km) from the capital, Georgetown. It is located on the eastern bank of the Berbice River, 4 mi (6.4 km) upriver from its mouth at the Atlantic Ocean, and immediately south of the Canje River. New Amsterdam’s population is approximately 33,000.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana

September 24th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Theme Weeks

Kaieteur Falls © Bill Cameron/cc-by-sa-3.0

Kaieteur Falls © Bill Cameron/cc-by-sa-3.0

Guyana is a sovereign state on the northern mainland of South America. It is, however, often considered part of the Caribbean region because of its strong cultural, historical, and political ties with other Anglo Caribbean countries and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and southwest, Suriname to the east and Venezuela to the west. With 215,000 square kilometres (83,000 sq mi), Guyana is the fourth-smallest country on mainland South America after Uruguay, Suriname and French Guiana (an overseas region of France).   read more…

Theme Week Uruguay

August 20th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Theme Weeks

Punta del Este © Roberto Tietzmann/cc-by-2.5

Punta del Este © Roberto Tietzmann/cc-by-2.5

Uruguay, officially the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, is a state in the southeastern region of South America. It borders Argentina to its west and Brazil to its north and east, with the Río de la Plata (River of Silver) to the south and the Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. Uruguay is home to an estimated 3.44 million people, of whom 1.8 million live in the metropolitan area of its capital and largest city, Montevideo (List of cities in Uruguay). With an area of approximately 176,000 square kilometres (68,000 sq mi), Uruguay is geographically the second-smallest nation in South America, after Suriname. Uruguayan culture is strongly European and its influences from southern Europe are particularly important. The tradition of the gaucho has been an important element in the art and folklore of both Uruguay and Argentina.   read more…

Acadia National Park in New England

August 13th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: Environment, General, Palaces, Castles, Manors, Parks

© Someone35/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Someone35/cc-by-sa-3.0

Acadia National Park is a United States national park located in the state of Maine in New England, southwest of Bar Harbor. The park reserves much of Mount Desert Island and associated smaller islands along the Atlantic coast. Initially created as the Sieur de Monts National Monument in 1916, the park was renamed and re-designated Lafayette National Park in 1919, and then renamed once more as Acadia National Park in 1929. Over three million people visited the park in 2016. Acadia is the oldest designated national park in the United States east of the Mississippi River, although two eastern national parks in Ontario are older: Thousand Islands (1904) and Point Pelee (1918). Today, with nearly 2.5 million visitors every year, the park is one of the ten most visited national parks in the United States due to its proximity to the metropolises of the East Coast.   read more…

Atlantic City in New Jersey

June 11th, 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

© - Bob Jagendorf/cc-by-2.0

© – Bob Jagendorf/cc-by-2.0

Atlantic City is a resort city in Atlantic County, New Jersey, known for its casinos, boardwalks, and beaches. It has a population of 39,000. The city was incorporated on May 1, 1854, from portions of Egg Harbor Township and Galloway Township. It borders Absecon, Brigantine, Pleasantville, Ventnor City, West Atlantic City, and the Atlantic Ocean. Atlantic City inspired the U.S. version of the board game Monopoly, especially the street names. Since 1921, Atlantic City has been the home of the Miss America pageant. In 1976, New Jersey voters legalized casino gambling in Atlantic City. The first casino opened two years later. Just 200 km south of New York City, the city is one of the most popular destinations for short-holiday travelers from the New York metropolitan area.   read more…

Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲