Theme Week Washington, D.C.

27 November 2013 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Theme Weeks Reading Time:  7 minutes

Lincoln Memorial by night © - CrashingWaves/cc-by-2.0

Lincoln Memorial by night © – CrashingWaves/cc-by-2.0

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as Washington, “the District”, or simply D.C., is the capital of the United States. The signing of the Residence Act on July 16, 1790, approved the creation of a capital district located along the Potomac River on the country’s East Coast. As permitted by the U.S. Constitution, the District is under the exclusive jurisdiction of the United States Congress and is therefore not a part of any U.S. state. The states of Maryland and Virginia each donated land to form the federal district, which included the preexisting settlements of Georgetown and Alexandria; however, Congress returned the Virginia portion in 1846. Named in honor of George Washington, the City of Washington was founded in 1791 to serve as the new national capital. Congress created a single municipal government for the whole District of Columbia after the American Civil War.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top