Theme Week Tibet – Lhasa

26 October 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, UNESCO World Heritage Reading Time:  16 minutes

Potala Palace © - Christopher Michel/cc-by-2.0

Potala Palace © – Christopher Michel/cc-by-2.0

Lhasa is a prefecture-level city, formerly a prefecture until 7 January 1960, one of the main administrative divisions of the Tibet Autonomous Region. It covers an area of 29,274 square kilometres (11,303 sq mi) of rugged and sparsely populated terrain. The consolidated prefecture-level city is divided into five mostly rural counties and three partially urban districts Chengguan District, Doilungdêqên District, and Dagzê District, which contain the main urban area of Lhasa.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top