Theme Week Myanmar – Naypyidaw

29 June 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  11 minutes

Parliament of Myanmar © - mohigan/cc-by-sa-3.0

Parliament of Myanmar © – mohigan/cc-by-sa-3.0

Naypyidaw, officially spelled Nay Pyi Taw, is the capital city of Myanmar and seat of the government of Myanmar. It is administered as the Naypyidaw Union Territory, as per the Constitution. It is unusual among Myanmar’s cities, being an entirely planned city outside of any state or region, similar to Canberra in Australia, Brasília in Brazil, Washington, D.C. in the United States and Islamabad in Pakistan.   read more…

Theme Week Myanmar

24 June 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Bon voyage, Theme Weeks, UNESCO World Heritage Reading Time:  12 minutes

Pathein © - oikk/cc-by-3.0

Pathein © – oikk/cc-by-3.0

Myanmar, officially the Republic of the Union of Myanmar and also known as Burma, is a country in Southeast Asia. Myanmar is bordered by India and Bangladesh to its west, Thailand and Laos to its east and China to its north and northeast. To its south, about one third of Myanmar’s total perimeter of 5,876 km (3,651 mi) forms an uninterrupted coastline of 1,930 km (1,200 mi) along the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. As of 2017, the population is about 54 million. Myanmar is 676,578 square kilometres (261,228 square miles) in size. Myanmar has been a member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) since 1997. The largest cities are Yangon, Mandalay, Naypyidaw (capital city), Bago, Hpa-An, Taunggyi, Monywa, Myitkyina, Mawlamyine and Magway (List of cities in Myanmar).   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top