Valletta on Malta

13 December 2014 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, European Union, European Capital of Culture, UNESCO World Heritage Reading Time:  6 minutes

Grandmaster's Palace © Zairon/cc-by-sa-3.0

Grandmaster’s Palace © Zairon/cc-by-sa-3.0

Valletta is the capital of Malta, colloquially known as Il-Belt (English: The City) in Maltese. It is located in the central-eastern portion of the island of Malta, and the historical city has a population of 6,966. Valletta is the second southernmost capital of the EU member states after Nicosia.   read more…

Theme Week Netherlands – Maastricht

31 May 2011 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, European Union Reading Time:  6 minutes

Old Quarter © Mussklprozz

Old Quarter © Mussklprozz

Maastricht is a city in the Netherlands. It is located in the southern part of the Dutch province of Limburg, of which it is the capital. Maastricht is widely known as a city of history, culture, local folklore and education. The town is popular with tourists for shopping and recreation. Maastricht is a member of the Most Ancient European Towns Network. The city has a large growing international student population.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top