Martha’s Vineyard on the Atlantic

19 December 2015 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Bon appétit Reading Time:  8 minutes

Dock on Martha's Vineyard © - m01229/cc-by-2.0

Dock on Martha’s Vineyard © – m01229/cc-by-2.0

Martha’s Vineyard is an island located south of Cape Cod in Massachusetts, known for being an affluent summer colony. It is accessible only by boat and air. It includes the smaller Chappaquiddick Island. Martha’s Vineyard is part of a chain of islands known as the Outer Lands. The island is a part of Dukes County, which also includes Cuttyhunk, as well as the island of Nomans Land, the latter of which is currently a US Wildlife preserve closed to the public. Martha’s Vineyard is divided into six towns. Each town is governed by a board of selectmen elected by town voters, along with annual and periodic town meetings. Each town is also a member of the Martha’s Vineyard Commission, which regulates island-wide building, environmental, and aesthetic concerns. Each town also follows certain regulations from Dukes County.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top