Kornati Islands National Park in Croatia

31 December 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Palaces, Castles, Manors, Parks Reading Time:  8 minutes

© Sporki/cc-by-sa-3.0

© Sporki/cc-by-sa-3.0

The Kornati archipelago of Croatia, also known as the Stomorski islands, is located in the northern part of Dalmatia, south from Zadar and west from Šibenik, in the Šibenik-Knin County. With 35 kilometres (22 miles) length and 89 islands, some large, some small, in a sea area of about 320 square kilometres (124 sq mi), the Kornati are the densest archipelago in the Mediterranean Sea. From northwest to southeast (from the island of Balabra to Samograd), and from northeast to southwest (from Gangarol to Mana) they stretch for 13 km (8 miles). The name of the archipelago is the plural form of the name of the largest island, called Kornat. There are no permanent settlements in Kornati. Simple houses in well-protected coves such as Vrulje, Kravjačica, Lavsa and others are used by mainland landowners as temporary shelters. Most of the land owners are from the island of Murter and Dugi Otok.   read more…

Burano in the Venetian Lagoon

1 December 2022 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  9 minutes

Burano as seen from Mazzorbo © Unofeld781/cc-by-sa-3.0

Burano as seen from Mazzorbo © Unofeld781/cc-by-sa-3.0

Burano is an island in the Venetian Lagoon, northern Italy, near Torcello at the northern end of the lagoon, known for its lace work and brightly coloured homes. The primary economy is tourism. Burano is 7 kilometres (4 miles) from Venice, a 45-minute trip from St. Mark’s Square by vaporetto, a Venetian water bus.   read more…

Theme Week Friuli Venezia Giulia – Muggia

24 December 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  7 minutes

© Zyance/cc-by-3.0

© Zyance/cc-by-3.0

Muggia is an Italian town and comune in the extreme south-east of the Province of Trieste in the region of Friuli-Venezia Giulia on the border with Slovenia. Lying on the eastern flank of the Gulf of Trieste in the northern Adriatic Sea, Muggia is the only Italian port town in Istria. The town’s architecture is marked by its Venetian and Austrian history, and its harbour hosts a modern 500-berth marina for yachts (Porto San Rocco). Muggia lies in northern Istria. Its territory, limited on the sea-side by a shoreline of more than 7 kilometres (4 mi) featuring a coastal road and on the border side by a hill system, Monti di Muggia, including Mt. Castellier, Mt. S. Michele, Mt. Zuc and Monte d’Oro, that dominate over a vast landscape of Triestinian and Istrian coast, is characterized by a rich sub-continental vegetation of both Karstic and Istrian type. It has a border crossing, known as San Bartolomeo, with Slovenia and the extreme east of the comune at Lazaretto. The Slovenian border crossing is called Lazaret in the Municipality of Koper.   read more…

Theme Week Friuli Venezia Giulia

20 December 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Theme Weeks Reading Time:  16 minutes

The seat of the regional government in Trieste © flickr.com - Nick Savchenko/cc-by-sa-2.0

The seat of the regional government in Trieste © flickr.com – Nick Savchenko/cc-by-sa-2.0

Friuli Venezia Giulia is one of the 20 regions of Italy, and one of five autonomous regions with special statute. The regional capital is Trieste. The name used to be hyphenated as Friuli-Venezia Giulia until 2001. The region is called Friûl Vignesie Julie in Friulian, Furlanija Julijska krajina in Slovene and Friaul Julisch Venetien in German, three languages spoken in the region. The city of Venice (“Venezia”) is not in this region, despite the name. Friuli Venezia Giulia has an area of 7,924 km² and about 1.2 million inhabitants. A natural opening to the sea for many Central European countries, the region is traversed by the major transport routes between the east and west of southern Europe. It encompasses the historical-geographical region of Friuli and a small portion of the historical region of Venezia Giulia – also known in English as the Julian March – each with its own distinct history, traditions and identity.   read more…

Herceg Novi at the Bay of Kotor

23 February 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  4 minutes

© Brian Dell

© Brian Dell

Herceg Novi is a city in western Montenegro, in the municipality of the same name with about 12,700 inhabitants. The associated community has a total of around 33,000 inhabitants. The town is located on the Adriatic Sea at the entrance of the Bay of Kotor and is especially important for tourism. The Kurzentrum “Dr. Simo Milošević ”, which uses the slightly radioactive sea mud as a basis for a variety of therapies.   read more…

Intermarium or Three Seas Initiative

3 February 2021 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  10 minutes

Three Seas initiative summit 2018 © Administration of the President of the Republic of Bulgaria/cc-by-2.5

Three Seas initiative summit 2018 © Administration of the President of the Republic of Bulgaria/cc-by-2.5

Intermarium (Polish: Międzymorze) was a geopolitical project conceived by politicians in successor states of the former Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth in several iterations, some of which anticipated the inclusion as well of other, neighboring states. The proposed multinational polity would have extended across territories lying between the Baltic, Black and Adriatic Seas, hence the name meaning “Between-Seas”.   read more…

Pellestrina in Venice

22 May 2020 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, European Union Reading Time:  5 minutes

© panoramio.com - ildirettore/cc-by-3.0

© panoramio.com – ildirettore/cc-by-3.0

Pellestrina is an island in northern Italy, forming a barrier between the southern Venetian Lagoon and the Adriatic Sea, lying south west of the Lido. The island is 11 kilometres (7 miles) long and has since the eighteenth century been bounded to its seaward side by large embankments. There are four main villages: San Pietro in Volta, Porto Secco, Sant’ Antonio di Pellestrina and Pellestrina, known for their colourfully-painted houses.   read more…

Bay of Kotor in Montenegro

1 May 2020 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, UNESCO World Heritage Reading Time:  7 minutes

© Elisabeth64/cc-by-sa-4.0

© Elisabeth64/cc-by-sa-4.0

The Bay of Kotor, also known as the Boka, is the winding bay of the Adriatic Sea in southwestern Montenegro and the region of Montenegro concentrated around the bay. The bay has been inhabited since antiquity. Its well-preserved medieval towns of Kotor, Risan, Tivat, Perast, Prčanj and Herceg Novi, along with their natural surroundings, are major tourist attractions. The Natural and Culturo-Historical Region of Kotor was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1979. Its numerous Orthodox and Catholic churches and monasteries attract numerous religious and cultural pilgrims.   read more…

Theme Week Apulia – Bari

28 December 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General Reading Time:  16 minutes

Seafood Market © flickr.com - Italo Greco/cc-by-2.0

Seafood Market © flickr.com – Italo Greco/cc-by-2.0

Bari is the capital city of the Metropolitan City of Bari and of the Apulia region, on the Adriatic Sea, in southern Italy. It is the second most important economic centre of mainland Southern Italy after Naples (the third after Palermo if insular Italy is included), a port and university city, as well as the city of Saint Nicholas. The city itself has a population of 320,257 inhabitants, over 116 square kilometres (45 sq mi), while the urban area has 750,000 inhabitants. The metropolitan area has 1.3 million inhabitants.   read more…

Return to TopReturn to Top