Copacabana and Ipanema in Rio de Janeiro

6 February 2019 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Copacabana © - Juniorpetjua/cc-by-2.0

Copacabana © – Juniorpetjua/cc-by-2.0

Copacabana is a bairro (neighbourhood) located in the South Zone of the city of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil. It is known for its 4 km (2.5 miles) balneario beach, which is one of the most famous in the world.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Georgetown

29 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Downtown Georgetown © - amanderson2/cc-by-2.0

Downtown Georgetown © – amanderson2/cc-by-2.0

Georgetown is the capital of Guyana, located in Region 4, which is also known as the Demerara-Mahaica region. It is the country’s largest urban centre. It is situated on the Atlantic Ocean coast at the mouth of the Demerara River and it was nicknamed Garden City of the Caribbean. Georgetown serves primarily as a retail and administrative centre. It also serves as a financial services centre. The city recorded a population of 200,500 in the 2016 census. Georgetown is the seat of the central Government of Guyana. All Executive Departments are located in the city. Parliament Building, Guyana’s Legislative Building, is also found in Georgetown and so is the Court of Appeals, Guyana’s highest judicial court. The State House (the official residence of the Head of State), as well as the offices and residence of the Head of Government, are both located in the city. Georgetown is the capital city as well as the main economic base of Guyana.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Bartica

28 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

© - Dan Sloan/cc-by-sa-2.0

Market © – Dan Sloan/cc-by-sa-2.0

Bartica is a town on the left bank of the Essequibo River in Cuyuni-Mazaruni (Region 7), at the confluence of the Cuyuni and Mazaruni Rivers with the Essequibo River in Guyana. Considered the “Gateway to the Interior”, the town has a population of about 15,000 and is the launching point for people who work in the bush, mining gold and diamonds.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Linden

27 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Lethem-Linden minibus © Pablo75rus/cc-by-sa-4.0

Lethem-Linden minibus © Pablo75rus/cc-by-sa-4.0

Linden is the second largest town in Guyana after Georgetown, and capital of the Upper Demerara-Berbice region, located at. It was declared a town in 1970, and includes the communities of MacKenzie and Wismar. It lies on the Demerara River and has a population of roughly 30,000. It is primarily a bauxite mining town, containing many mines 60–90 metres deep, with many other pits now in disuse. The “Linden Museum of Socio-Cultural Heritage” is located in the centre of Linden. The museum displays artifacts and pictures of the culture and heritage of the Linden community.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – Anna Regina

26 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Country Road Scenery © - Marco Farouk Basir/cc-by-sa-3.0

Country Road Scenery © – Marco Farouk Basir/cc-by-sa-3.0

Anna Regina< is the capital of the Pomeroon-Supenaam Region of Guyana. It stands on the Atlantic coast, northwest of the mouth of the Essequibo River, 19 km north of Adventure. Anna Regina was established as a town in 1970. Its population is at 12,500. Anna Regina has a market, a community centre and a secondary school. In June 2009 Republic Bank (Guyana) established a branch in the town.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana – New Amsterdam

25 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Berbice River © - madmack66/cc-by-2.0

Berbice River © – madmack66/cc-by-2.0

New Amsterdam (Dutch: Nieuw Amsterdam) is one of the largest towns in Guyana, located in the East Berbice-Corentyne Region, 62 mi (100 km) from the capital, Georgetown. It is located on the eastern bank of the Berbice River, 4 mi (6.4 km) upriver from its mouth at the Atlantic Ocean, and immediately south of the Canje River. New Amsterdam’s population is approximately 33,000.   read more…

Theme Week Guyana

24 September 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, Theme Weeks

Kaieteur Falls © Bill Cameron/cc-by-sa-3.0

Kaieteur Falls © Bill Cameron/cc-by-sa-3.0

Guyana is a sovereign state on the northern mainland of South America. It is, however, often considered part of the Caribbean region because of its strong cultural, historical, and political ties with other Anglo Caribbean countries and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and southwest, Suriname to the east and Venezuela to the west. With 215,000 square kilometres (83,000 sq mi), Guyana is the fourth-smallest country on mainland South America after Uruguay, Suriname and French Guiana (an overseas region of France).   read more…

Theme Week Uruguay – Montevideo

25 August 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General

Sunset in Montevideo © Femenias/cc-by-3.0

Sunset in Montevideo © Femenias/cc-by-3.0

Montevideo is the capital and largest city of Uruguay. According to the 2011 census, the city proper has a population of 1,319,108 (about one-third of the country’s total population) in an area of 201 square kilometres (78 sq mi). The southernmost capital city in the Americas, Montevideo is situated in the southern coast of the country, on the northeastern bank of the Río de la Plata. The city was established in 1724 by a Spanish soldier, Bruno Mauricio de Zabala, as a strategic move amidst the SpanishPortuguese dispute over the platine region. It was also under brief British rule in 1807. Montevideo is the seat of the administrative headquarters of Mercosur and ALADI, Latin America’s leading trade blocs, position that entailed comparisons to the role of Brussels in Europe.   read more…

Theme Week Uruguay – Colonia del Sacramento

24 August 2018 | Author/Destination: | Rubric: General, UNESCO World Heritage

Misiones de los Tapes Street at night © Flc1980/cc-by-sa-3.0

Misiones de los Tapes Street at night © Flc1980/cc-by-sa-3.0

Colonia del Sacramento, formerly the Portuguese Colónia do Sacramento) is a city in southwestern Uruguay, by the Río de la Plata, facing Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is one of the oldest towns in Uruguay and capital of the Colonia Department. It has a population of around 27,000. It is renowned for its historic quarter, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Modern Colonia del Sacramento produces textiles and has a free trade zone, in addition to a polytechnic centre and various government buildings.   read more…

Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲